The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Buried Idioms

Buried treasure – what makes geocaching fun, is bringing out the explorer or “pirate” in all of us to find the buried or hidden treasure.

Bury head in the sand – my approach to pregnancy. Bury my head in the sand until birth….and then wish I could bury it again, just for a break and a little rest!

Bury the hatchet – to make peace and settle differences. If only this was true, but I’ve found that attempts to do so merely end up in dredging up the past. The hatchet is never truly buried. lol, sorry for that downer. I’m a realist.

Know where the bodies are buried – to know secrets of the past or hidden details regarding a situation or person. A person that knows where the bodies are buried can use it to their advantage. When I think of this, I think of the series House of Cards. Everyone has dirt on everyone and, like watching a train wreck, I can’t seem to look away. At the same time, I have no one to cheer on. I despise them all!

Let the dead bury the dead – don’t bring up old grievances/complaints. Sadly, I know of many who just can’t let it lie. In fact, I’m one of them. I want justice, I want it to be made right, but the world is messy and one-sided. To expect anything more merely leaves me disappointed and dissatisfied.

3 comments on “Buried Idioms

  1. Success Inspirers' World
    July 12, 2017

    Thanks for sharing these idioms.

    Like

  2. newepicauthor
    July 12, 2017

    Good job writing this post and I love idioms. Ostriches are known to bury their heads in the sand to avoid predators, I guess they feel if they don’t see a problem then there is nothing to worry about. I agree with you about House of Cards.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Author Interview – Leilanie Stewart – “CHEMOTHERAPY FOR THE SOUL”, “A MODEL ARCHAEOLOGIST”, “REALMS OF MAN/ METAMORPHOSIS OF WOMAN” & “TOEBIRDS AND WOODLICE” (Poetry) and “Zombie Reflux” (Contemporary/Satirical

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 12, 2017 by in Daily Prompt, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,356 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,630 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
