The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Review of 25,000 Mornings

25,000 Mornings

By Fay Rowe

In 25,000 Mornings, the award-winning author of Keepers of the Testimony and Smooth Stones & Promises serves up daily portions of ancient wisdom.

In a relaxed, chat-over-coffee style, award-winning author of Keepers of the Testimony and Smooth Stones & Promises Fay Rowe’s third book and first devotional, 25,000 Mornings, offers up daily portions of ancient, Biblical wisdom as it encourages, challenges and sometimes amuses. In her first devotional, Fay Rowe writes for both the young and young-at-heart on varied subjects such as: starting out and starting over; believing words; resting on the rock; talking to God; never giving up; being yourself and living with people; and clocks and calendars.


This devotional is really a collection of the author’s personal stories and experiences, along with her thoughts on how she applied them to God and how she saw Him working in her life (and that of her family). While the stories were interesting and the points well made, I was actually expecting a straight daily devotion. I guess what I was thinking of is more in line with just reading the Bible more and less on relying on side devotions. To gain a more personal relationship with Him, I won’t find it in another’s experience, but rather my own.

That said, this is still a good devotional to show us how God can work in our lives. It reminds me of my story I tell my kids in Sunday school when discussing the importance of prayer.

My brother-in-law had lost his wallet in the ocean while we were checking out a beach in Kauai. In it, he’d had his driver’s license, credit cards and over $200 in cash. Panicked, he and a friend of ours grabbed snorkel gear and frantically snorkeled through the crashing waves, hoping to find it. But the waves were frequent, the murky water constantly churning with sand. There was no way we’d find it.

My husband went down the beach to search the shore, as did his parents. I didn’t know what to do. And in that moment of helplessness, all I could think of was to pray. Now, for someone who doesn’t believe, they’d explain this away and that’s fine by me. I know what happened, because it happened to me. I stood in the waters, the waves crashing against my legs. And I began to pray: “God, please help me find his wallet.”

Simple. Not fancy. Just stating the miracle we needed in that moment. But then a thought, like a little voice, spoke up and reminded me that yes, He could probably “show” me the wallet, but would I be able to reach it? Or would it be floating ten feet away with no hope of getting to it in time? So I quickly amended my prayer: “God, only You can do this. We have NO clue where the wallet is at, or if the fish are racking up a huge credit card bill (lol, ok…I didn’t exactly say that). Please help me not only find and see the wallet, but be able to catch it in my hand.” And I placed my hand open, with palm facing the ocean, into the water.

I’d barely gotten my hand in the water when a wave came crashing in and….I kid you not, the wallet landed square in my palm.

That night, I got an excellent fish dinner as a thanks from my brother-in-law. I had to remind him, it wasn’t me he should thank, it was God. All I did was ask for help.

So while this devotional isn’t all scripture and lessons from the Bible, the author does use her personal experiences (like mine) to show just how amazing our God is.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
One comment on “Review of 25,000 Mornings

  1. ichabod2014ic
    August 9, 2017

    Cool wallet story. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 9, 2017 by in Books, Reviews and tagged , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,356 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,638 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
