The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Sucks To Be You

Sympathy – feelings of pity and sorrow for someone else’s misfortune.

Not to be confused with empathy. One allows for better understanding of what the person is going through. The other elicits the strong desire to alleviate that individual’s suffering.

Which then reminds me of Ash from Alien (yeah, I know…my brain is wired, uh, weird). After the crew has already discovered the incredible deadly xenomorph on the ship, Ripley finds that’s not the only danger they face. Since this movie has been out for over 30 years, I’ll assume that spoilers are okay in this post.

The audience learns, along with the crew, that Ash is a company android, sent to ensure that if intelligent life is found it is kept and returned for further research. The order states that the crew is expendable. When Ripley confronts Ash, he attacks her. Thankfully, other crew members come to her aid and “disable” the android. I spare you the gory details. Everyone has questions that need answers, so they piece Ash back together, enough to have a chat. During the conversation, he makes this comment:

“I can’t lie to you about your chances, but… you have my sympathies.”

 

Ash offers a slight smile…though it looks more like a smirk to me. He may feel sorry for what they’re up against, but not enough to make an effort to help (if he could, that is). To me, that is the definition of sympathy. Or as I’ve heard it said, “Sucks to be you.”

3 comments on “Sucks To Be You

  1. julieallyn
    September 11, 2017

    Love. This. You make me want to watch this again (has it really been 30 years? Wow.)

    I posted a different take for today’s prompt relating to my feelings for my rather annoying MIL. And now I’m wondering which it is I’m lacking in with regard to her: is it sympathy? Or is it empathy? You’ve given me something to chew on. Bottom line though: She’s still frustrating as hell!!!

    Good post. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Elizabeth Los
    September 11, 2017

    When I wrote the post, I was thinking it came out in 1986, but that was Aliens. Alien came out in 1979. So WELL over 30 years. Yiks! It’s rare that I like both the original and sequel to any movie franchise, but this is one where I liked both. (We won’t include the others, lol)

    I’ll have to post about my experiences with my MIL. It isn’t as bad as others and their experiences, but there’ve been…issues. I’m fortunate that it’s all been minor and we get along. 😉

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Author Interview – Katherine Dell – Harmless Series (Mystery/Thriller/Paranormal Romance) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 11, 2017 by in Daily Prompt, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,369 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,349 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers
I review for BethanyHouse
I review for Blogging For Books

Reading/Writing

