The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Dark Crystal Prequel?!

Is this a farce? A cruel joke to get fans excited for a taste of their childhood once again?

I wonder if they had this in the planning stage, at least in their thoughts, when they did the Skeksis challenge in the Jim Henson’s Creature Shop. I think I enjoyed watching that challenge the most. Still, I’m concern on how this will turn out.

Jim Hensons Creature Shop Challenge S01E02 Return of the Skeksis from abslom daak on Vimeo.

As a child, I recall really enjoying Fraggle Rock. Actually, I loved most of Henson’s creations. Fraggle Rock was more of a treat since it was only featured on HBO and we didn’t have that channel growing up. But now that it’s back on HBO, I’m hesitant to watch it. What I remember as a child and what actual is, are two totally different things. Like when I took my kids to see the Fall of Atlantis at Caesar’s Palace in Las Vegas. Uhh…I remember it being a lot better as a kid. Now, as an adult, that childhood fog as been lifted, sadly, enough for me to note the jerky movements of the animatronics, the clothing that’s sagged to reveal robotic parts and pieces that look about ready to fall off.

In the same vein, I feel a fond nostalgia for Dark Crystal. Sure, there were a few things that I recall creeping me out as a child, but most of it was just this fascinating new world. Massive, complex puppets that didn’t feel like I was watching puppets. The Skeksis were my favorite. Which is why I’m not sure how this will turn out.

Still, I enjoyed watching Series of Unfortunate Events with my kids. Here’s hoping for another series that we can watch together.

Ragers & Flying Time

Farce

Parenting a Sensitive Intense Child

Finally! Do I need to say it?? Kitten Thursday!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2017 by in Daily Prompt, Daily Ramblings and tagged , , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,354 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 8,340 hits
I review for BookLook Bloggers

Do It Yourself

Reading/Writing

Reviews Published Professional Reader
