The Consulting Writer

aka The Frazzled Mom

Reboot? Ain’t Nobody Got Time For That!

I have a love/hate relationship with all things electronic. They can entertain me with witty shows or beautiful music, and in a blink of an eye…

The dreaded BSOD (Blue Screen of Death)

Grrr.

And don’t give me the Apple argument. I’ve had just as much trouble with Apple as I have with Windows. It drives me up the wall because I seem to be the “go to” person when it comes to fixing computer issues. I feel for characters like Classified (it’s like talking to my parents) and Flint (DRAG it across the desktop!).

What’s the problem? They ask.

PEBKAC, I mumble. (problem exists between keyboard and chair)

🙂

I’d never make it in the Information Technology (IT) department, especially not the help desk. But at least it gives me a better appreciation of what those guys go through. And by “guys” I generalize, because I’m a chick, so obviously chicks can fix computers just as well as guys. Relax, feminists.

At any rate, recently a guy (actually a guy) upgraded some software at work. I’ve had experience with this software, so when he said he’d be done in 30 minutes, I chuckled and emailed my reply as “Well, it can be touchy, so good luck!” That’s when I received the most grateful email from IT, for understanding and “getting it”. Ok, ok, relax, dude. 🙂

One thing I hate hearing from the IT department is, “Have you tried restarting?” Ugh. Duh! Yes, I know what I’m doing. I may be a blonde, but I’m not a moron. Anyway. Can we jump to tier 10, pretty please? Unless you enjoy the sound of me hitting my head on the desk.

Funny enough, when my kids have a problem with their electronics, that’s the first thing I tell them to do. lol   Have you tried turning it off and back on again? And no, that doesn’t mean just dimming the screen. You actually need to reboot the system. I’d say maybe 90% of the time, that resolves it. The other 10% involves me grumbling and sometimes yelling at the inanimate object.

2 comments on “Reboot? Ain’t Nobody Got Time For That!

  1. Covert Novelist
    March 1, 2018

    LMAO My son is IT support and believe me, he’s heard it all, and he’s usually the one bashing his head against the desk. I kid! He’s amazingly patient with people, some who don’t even know how to turn a remote on, or start a cell phone. Trust me, the issues are crazy, amazing, funny, and frustrating too. Loved this! I read it to him and he laughed.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Restart | Wired With Words

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 1, 2018 by in Daily Prompt, Daily Ramblings and tagged , .
Follow The Consulting Writer on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,644 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 75,847 hits

I review for BethanyHouse I review for Tyndale I review for Edelweiss I review for Revell

Pinterest

Reviews Published 80% 50 Book Reviews Professional Reader